Spain, World Cup Champion 2010

– Spain was proclaimed world champion after winning the World Cup final in South Africa over the Netherlands, thanks to a goal from Andrés Iniesta in the second half of the extra time, after finishing regular time tied at zero.

The Vicente del Bosque players, who dominated the game from the first moments of the game, had to live with the harshness of the game of ‘Oranje’, who tried to disrupt the Spanish midfield based on kicks by two ‘destroyers’ Van Bommel and De Jong.

The minutes passed and the party broke up with kickbacks to both teams, giving a greater role in the second half to Iker Casillas (who avoided a goal by Robben in the second half in a man to man confrontation) and Stekelenburg, in a couple of arrivals Villa, Iniesta and Sergio Ramos.

Without clearly dominating, both teams faced the final stretch of the match and Spain enjoyed the best chances but could not take advantage, and the game went into overtime.

Once in overtime, Cesc Fabregas wasted the clearest chance in a head to head with the goal Dutchman, Navas scratched the bottom right of the Holland goal and Xavi would not use a foul on the edge of the area, which cost the expulsion Heitinga with two yellow cards.

The goal, which came unexpectedly, would come from the feet of Iniesta with a pass from Cesc Fabregas in minute 116, whose cross-shot ended in the net.

Enjoyed this post? Share it!


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.